Logo of the MDZ: Münchener DigitalisierungsZentrum, Digitale Bibliothek. Navigate to main page

Digital Preservation and Data Curation

Digital preservation at the Bavarian State Library

Ensuring the long-term availability and accessibility of its digital holdings is a central part of the Bavarian State Library’s mission as a state and archival library. Its digital collections include digitized copies of cultural heritage as well as born-digital publications. The latter comprise publications from the library’s own production, electronic monographs and journals published by Bavarian public authorities, open access publications of scientific relevance to the library’s main collection focuses or to Bavarica as well as web archives. The library’s digital preservation strategy (PDF) was laid down in a detailed policy.

Digital preservation constantly poses new challenges to insitutions active in this field. The BSB therefore participates in research projects focusing on the development of innovative concepts and solutions, engages in standardization through collaboration in DIN (German Institute for Standardization) and is a partner in the German competence network nestor promoting networking, exchange, qualification and certification in the area of digital preservation.

Information on past projects can be found in our web archive.

Mission of digital preservation

Rapid technological changes in hardware and software, especially in data carriers and in file and data formats, as well as the volatility of resources on the World Wide Web can endanger the availability and accessibility of digital resources. These risks must be addressed with appropriate organizational, technical and library-specific measures.

The tasks of digital preservation include:

  1. Identification and specification of a small number of file formats suitable for long-term use for various types of material

  2. Assignment of persistent identifiers such as Uniform Resource Names (URNs) to secure access to electronic resources

  3. Quality control and validation of the digital object before archiving

  4. Secure management and storage on different storage media and in different locations

  5. Documentation of all changes to the object and its metadata during the life cycle of the digital object

  6. Risk assessment and initiation of long-term digital preservation measures as required, e.g. migration to an up-to-date data format

These tasks are supported by the technical infrastructure of the BSB's digital archive, which is based on Rosetta, a digital asset management and preservation solution provided by Ex Libris/Proquest.

Deposit and digital preservation of electronic publications

The Bavarian State Library is the central state and archival library of Bavaria. For more information on the library’s state-wide services visit the Legal Deposit Unit or Official Publications.

In accordance with the decree of the Bavarian State Government of December 2, 2008 (Ref.: B II 2-480-30) (PDF) on the submission of official publications to libraries, all authorities, departments and institutions of the Free State of Bavaria are required to submit their (electronic) publications to the Bavarian State Library. Electronic official publications are stored permanently and made available online unless the publisher has restricted or prohibited access. The BSB has set up a web-based deposit, through which publications can be uploaded conveniently by staff of the depositing institutions. The Bavarian State Library makes all electronic publications accessible and in general freely available via its catalog. In addition, the BSB is building up collections of electronic publications within the scope of its collection emphasis (Bavarica, Music, Eastern Europe, Classical Studies and History). These publications are also preserved, provided that an authorization for archiving and delivery has been granted accordingly.

If publishers, publishing institutions or individual authors wish to submit their digital publications to the BSB, we’ll gladly check the relevance to the collection. Prior to digital preservation, the library must be given an appropriate permission for archiving and delivery (PDF).

Further information on the deposit of electronic publications can be found in our FAQ. If you have any questions, please contact us.

Web Archive

Social, political, cultural and scientific activity today is largely reflected in the internet and on Social Media. In order to ensure the preservation of the web's digital cultural heritage and the continued supply of scientific information on the web for future generations, institutions worldwide systematically collect, catalog and archive websites. As part of its state-wide service as well as its collection emphasis (Bavarica, Music, Eastern Europe, Classical Studies, History), the BSB has been archiving websites since 2012, making them permanently accessible to the public for science and research. For legal reasons, the BSB only includes websites in its collection for which explicit permission (PDF) has been granted or which, according to the decree of the Bavarian State Government of December 2, 2008 (Ref.: B II 2-480-30) (PDF) on the submission of official publications to libraries, are to be permanently stored and made accessible by the BSB.

The Web Curator Tool is used for archiving websites. This open source software offers integrated processing from obtaining permission, through to automated harvesting followed by intellectual quality control up to archiving. The integrated web crawler "Heritrix" follows the link structure of the websites during the harvesting process and collects the found pages. External links to other sites and password-protected areas of a website are not part of the crawl. This process is repeated regularly at semi-annual intervals, so that a website is archived at different points in time reflecting the respective status at the given moment. The digital preservation is carried out in the Rosetta system from Ex Libris/ProQuest.

The Bavarian State Library makes all archived websites searchable and publicly available via its catalog (example of a Web Archive in the OPACplus). The “Wayback” viewer offers the user a chronological overview of all captures of an archived website, which can then be accessed individually. The web archives are also available for scientific research in the subject portals and the Bavarian Bibliography.

Further information on web archiving can be found in our FAQ. If you have any questions, please contact us.

Data Curation

For the BSB as a multimedia information service provider for science, a sustainable management of digital resources (content and metadata) is particularly important. The quality criteria of digital resources have to be specified with regard to current and future requirements of the target groups. The quality of digital resources must be preserved throughout their entire life cycle.

The tasks of Data Curation include

  • identification of high-quality, sustainable file and data formats for different media types

  • creation of own policies that take into account the specific quality requirements

  • the use of tools to validate data and check quality requirements

  • the use of suitable metadata to ensure the integrity and authenticity, as well as the quality of the data throughout its entire life cycle

  • sustainable management of storage infrastructures

  • digital preservation

  • advising other library departments on questions regarding the quality of digital resources and the sustainability of file and data formats

Logo des MDZ: Münchener DigitalisierungsZentrum, Digitale Bibliothek. Zur Startseite

Langzeitarchivierung und Data Curation

Digitale Langzeitarchivierung an der BSB

Für die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek als Landes- und Archivbibliothek ist die Sicherung der Langzeitverfügbarkeit und -nutzbarkeit ihrer digitalen Bestände ein zentraler Teil ihres Gesamtauftrags. Zum digitalen Bestand zählen neben den Retro-Digitalisaten von Kulturgütern auch genuin elektronische Publikationen. Diese umfassen die Publikationen aus der eigenen Produktion, Ablieferungen elektronischer Monographien und Zeitschriften Bayerischer Behörden, wissenschaftlich relevante Open Access Publikationen zu den Sammelschwerpunkten der BSB und zu Bavarica sowie Webarchive. Die Strategie der Langzeitarchivierung der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek (PDF) wurde in einer ausführlichen Policy beschrieben.

Das Aufgabengebiet der Langzeitarchivierung stellt die in diesem Feld aktiven Institutionen laufend vor neue Herausforderungen. Die BSB beteiligt sich daher im Rahmen von Forschungsprojekten an der Entwicklung von innovativen Konzepten und Lösungen, durch Mitarbeit im DIN an der Standardisierung sowie als Partner im deutschen Kompetenznetzwerk nestor an der Vernetzung, dem Austausch, der Qualifizierung und Zertifizierung.

Informationen zu früheren Projekten finden sich in unserem Webarchiv.

Aufgaben der Langzeitarchivierung

Der rasche technologische Wandel in Hard- und Software, insbesondere bei Datenträgern und bei Datei- und Datenformaten, sowie die Flüchtigkeit der Ressourcen im World Wide Web können die Verfügbarkeit und Nutzbarkeit digitaler Ressourcen gefährden. Diesen Risiken gilt es mit entsprechenden organisatorischen, technischen und bibliothekarischen Maßnahmen entgegenzuwirken.

Zu den Aufgaben der Langzeitarchivierung zählen:

  1. Identifikation und Spezifikation von wenigen langzeittauglichen Dateiformaten für die verschiedenen Materialtypen

  2. Vergabe von Persistenten Identifikatoren wie etwa Uniform Ressource Names (URNs) zur Sicherung des Zugriffs auf die elektronischen Ressourcen

  3. Qualitätsprüfung und Validierung der digitalen Objekte vor der Archivierung

  4. Sichere Verwaltung und Speicherung auf unterschiedlichen Speichermedien und an unterschiedlichen Orten

  5. Dokumentation aller Veränderungen an den Objekten und Metadaten im Lebenszyklus der digitalen Objekte

  6. Risikobewertung und Einleitung von Langzeitarchivierungsmaßnahmen bei Bedarf, z.B. die Migration in ein aktuelleres Datenformat

Die technische Infrastruktur des digitalen Langzeitarchivs der BSB, aufbauend auf dem Langzeitarchivsystem Rosetta der Firma Ex Libris/Proquest, unterstützt diese Aufgaben.

Ablieferung und Langzeitarchivierung von Netzpublikationen

Die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek ist die zentrale Landes- und Archivbibliothek des Freistaates Bayern. Zu den landesweiten Diensten der BSB in diesem Bereich siehe auch Informationen der Pflichtstelle und der Amtlichen Veröffentlichungen.

Gemäß der Bekanntmachung der Bayerischen Staatsregierung vom 2. Dezember 2008 (Az.: B II 2-480-30) (PDF) zur Abgabe amtlicher Veröffentlichungen an Bibliotheken haben alle Behörden, Dienststellen und Einrichtungen des Freistaates Bayern auch ihre elektronischen Publikationen (Netzpublikationen) an die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek abzugeben. Amtliche Publikationen in elektronischer Form werden dauerhaft gespeichert und für die Benutzung zur Verfügung gestellt, sofern der Herausgeber dies nicht eingeschränkt oder untersagt hat. Für amtliche Netzpublikationen hat die BSB das webbasierte Verfahren zur Ablieferung "Deposit" eingerichtet, über das Publikationen einfach und bequem durch MitarbeiterInnen der abliefernden Stellen selbstständig hochgeladen werden können. Die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek macht alle Netzpublikationen über ihren Katalog auffindbar und stellt sie in der Regel frei zur Verfügung. Darüber hinaus baut die BSB für ihre fachlichen Schwerpunkte (Bavarica, Musik, Osteuropa, Altertumswissenschaften und Geschichte) Sammlungen von Netzpublikationen auf, die auch der Langzeitarchivierung zugeführt werden, sofern die Archivierungs- und Nutzungsrechte entsprechend erteilt wurden.

Möchten Verlage und andere verlegende Einrichtungen oder Personen ihre digitalen Veröffentlichungen (elektronische Parallelveröffentlichungen oder originär elektronische Publikationen) an die BSB abliefern, prüfen wir gerne die Sammlungsrelevanz. Vor einer möglichen Archivierung ist der BSB eine entsprechende Archivierungs- und Nutzungslizenz (PDF) zu erteilen.

Weitere Hinweise zur Ablieferung von Netzpublikationen finden Sie in unseren FAQs. Bei Fragen nehmen Sie bitte Kontakt zu uns auf.

Webarchivierung

Gesellschaftliches, politisches, soziales, kulturelles und wissenschaftliches Handeln manifestiert sich heute zu großen Teilen im Internet und den dort etablierten Sozialen Medien. Um den Erhalt dieses digitalen Kulturerbes und die Kontinuität der wissenschaftlichen Informationsversorgung im Web auch für nachfolgende Generationen zu sichern, werden von Institutionen weltweit Websites systematisch gesammelt, erschlossen und archiviert. Im Rahmen ihrer landesweiten Aufgaben sowie ihrer inhaltlichen Sammelschwerpunkte (Bavarica, Musik, Osteuropa, Altertumswissenschaften, Geschichte) archiviert die BSB seit 2012 Websites und macht sie für Wissenschaft und Forschung dauerhaft öffentlich zugänglich. Aus rechtlichen Gründen nimmt die BSB nur Websites in ihre Sammlung auf, für die eine explizite Genehmigung (PDF) vorliegt oder die gemäß der Bekanntmachung der Bayerischen Staatsregierung vom 2. Dezember 2008 (Az.: B II 2-480-30) (PDF) zur Abgabe amtlicher Veröffentlichungen an Bibliotheken als elektronische amtliche Veröffentlichungen von der BSB dauerhaft zu speichern und zugänglich zu machen sind.

Für die Archivierung kommt das Web Curator Tool zum Einsatz. Diese Open-Source-Software bietet einen integrierten Bearbeitungsprozess von der Genehmigungseinholung über den automatisierten Harvest-Prozess sowie die intellektuelle Qualitätskontrolle bis hin zur Archivierung. Der integrierte Crawler „Heritrix“ folgt beim Harvest-Prozess der Linkstruktur auf den Websites und sammelt die gefundenen Seiten ein. Externe Links auf andere Angebote und passwortgeschützte Bereiche der Website werden dabei nicht weiter verfolgt. Dieses Verfahren wird regelmäßig in halbjährlichem Abstand wiederholt, sodass eine Website in mehreren Zeitschnitten, die den Stand zum jeweiligen Zeitpunkt wiedergeben, archiviert wird. Die Langzeitarchivierung erfolgt im System Rosetta von Ex Libris/ProQuest. Die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek macht alle archivierten Websites über ihren Katalog auffindbar und öffentlich zugänglich (Beispiel für ein Webarchiv im OPACplus). Der Nutzer erhält im Viewer Wayback zunächst eine chronologische Übersicht aller im Archiv vorhandenen Zeitschnitte einer Website, die er dann gezielt einzeln aufrufen kann. Die Webarchive stehen auch in den fachspezifischen Informationsportalen und der bayerischen Bibliographie für wissenschaftliche Recherchen zur Verfügung.

Weitere Hinweise zur Webarchivierung finden Sie in unseren FAQs. Bei Fragen nehmen Sie bitte Kontakt zu uns auf.

Data Curation

Für die BSB als multimedialer Informationsdienstleister für die Wissenschaft ist ein nachhaltiges Management digitaler Ressourcen (Inhalts- wie Metadaten) besonders wichtig. Die Qualitätsmerkmale von digitalen Ressourcen sind im Hinblick auf heutige wie zukünftige Anforderungen der Zielgruppen zu spezifizieren. Es gilt die Qualität der digitalen Ressourcen im gesamten Lebenszyklus zu sichern.

Die Aufgaben von Data Curation umfassen

  • Identifizierung von qualitätsvollen, archivfähigen Daten- und Dateiformaten für unterschiedliche Medientypen

  • Erstellung von eigenen Policies, die die spezifischen Qualitätsanforderungen berücksichtigen

  • Einsatz von Tools zur Validierung von Daten und Überprüfung der Qualitätsanforderungen

  • Einsatz geeigneter Metadaten zur Sicherung der Integrität und Authentizität sowie der Qualität der Daten im gesamten Lebenszyklus

  • Nachhaltiges Management der Speicherinfrastrukturen

  • Langzeitarchivierung

  • Beratung der anderen Abteilungen des Hauses bei Fragen zu Qualität von digitalen Ressourcen, Archivfähigkeit von Daten- und Dateiformaten